Texas Learner's Permit

Wondering what the next step is after completing your Drivers Ed course? All you have to do is follow a few easy steps to apply for your Texas learner’s permit. You must:

If a driver is at least 15 years old, he or she can apply for a Texas learners permit. The requirements before the driver can obtain a Texas learners permit are:

After the driver obtains a Texas practice drivers license, he or she cannot operate any vehicle alone. Texas law states that anyone with a Texas learners permit or practice driver's license must have someone at least 21 years of age in the passenger seat. The passenger must have his or her driver's license.

To prepare for tests, generate time-saving forms, and download helpful checklists click here

Tests The New Driver Must Take In Order To Obtain A Texas Learners Permit

In order for the new driver to get a Texas learners permit, they must be able to pass the written knowledge test. This test is taken after at least 32 hours of classroom time has been completed. If the driver passes the written exam, he or she is still not guaranteed a Texas learners permit.

To complete the process to obtain a Texas learners permit or practice drivers license, the new driver must log:

  • Seven behind-the-wheel hours
  • Seven hours of observation
  • Twenty hours of additional driving
  • Ten of the additional hours must be at night

After the applicant for a Texas learners permit completes the required driving hours, he or she will have to take the road test. For this test, the Texas learners permit applicant will have to provide their own vehicle. The vehicle must be in good working order. Some of the driving skills tested are as follows:

  • Using signals correctly
  • Completely stopping at stop signs or stop lights
  • Parallel parking
  • Following speed limit signs correctly

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)

Graduated Driver Licensing was instated to slowly introduce new drivers with Texas learners permits to driving experiences in low-risk environments. New drivers with a Texas learners permit must have their Texas learners permit for a full six months before a provisional license can be issued. This licensing program promotes safe driving for the new drivers with their Texas learners permit or practice driver's license. Another requirement of the program GDL is that extra passengers are not allowed in the car if the driver has their learners permit. The only passenger that is allowed has to be seated in the front seat, be at least twenty-one years of age or older, and hold a valid drivers license.

Documents Needed To Obtain A Learners Permit In Texas

In order to obtain a Texas Learners permit, the applicant will need:

  • Completed application
  • Proof of identification
  • Proof of lawful prescence
  • Proof of Social Security

Examples of each type of document are listed below: 

Proof Of Identification To Obtain A State Learners Permit:

  • Identification Certificate
  • United States passport
  • United States Citizenship Certificate
  • Certificate of Naturalization

Proof Of Lawful Presence To Obtain A State Practice Drivers License:

  • Original or certified copy of Birth Certificate
  • Original or certified copy of U.S. Department of State Certification of Birth Abroad
  • Original or certified copy of a court ordered document

Proof Of Social Security To Obtain A Texas Practice Drivers License:

  • Social Security card
  • W-2 form
  • 1099 form
  • School records (report cards, photo ID cards)

For a complete checklist of the required documentation Click Here